Maybe these are my people

bashback-detailsphoto

The liberal, feel-good, pseudo-hippie part of my personality thinks we can all sit down and get to know each other and overcome our bigotry, but another (much, much larger) part of me thinks the days of talking are coming to a swift end, and it’s time to just go kick some ass. It’s turned into a war out there (begun and stoked daily, I might add, by the right wing, who thrives on the hatred and intimidation), and it’s interesting to me that the religious leaders and followers in this country talk their shit and incite their violence every day of the week, but as soon as some militant political group hangs a banner on their church, the church is suing, and running scared.

Get used to it, bitches. There’s more of it coming.

It was not a happy homecoming. About 20 activists formed a picket line out front while a dozen others snuck inside to disrupt the service. One faction rose to chant, “Jesus was a homo,” while flinging pamphlets, glitter, and condoms into the air. Another dropped an 18-foot BASH BACK! banner from the balcony. As ushers scrambled to collect the condoms, two women moved toward the pulpit, where they launched into a lusty kiss.

The response was harsh from nearly all camps. The local paper described the protest as “boorish” and “self-defeating.” Chuck Norris, a well-known conservative, condemned it in a blog post, and Bill O’Reilly, who branded the group a mob of gay terrorists, called on Michigan attorney general Mike Cox to take a stand. Cox declined, but Bash Back!’s members remain wary of outsiders. It took me three months to arrange this meeting.

“I guess we did scare the shit out of them,” Mel says. “It was awesome,” adds Andy. “It’s a pray-the-gay-out-of-you place. Gays should be there protesting every day.”

Yes, it’s a Details article, so it should probably be taken with a grain of salt. I like it, though. I like it a lot. (And any group that harasses parishioners in church is usually pretty okay by me.)

5 responses to “Maybe these are my people

  1. Well, my 2 cents: It was not really an appropriate response on the part of those who interrupted the service. I mean, I DO NOT agree with “praying the gay out”, but I say live and let live. By acting the way they did, it put them on the same level as those who discriminate against them. If they would choose an activity that was beneficial to the community, then that would show that they were better than the churchgoers you describe. In my religion and faith, its about what you do for others (and how you treat them), not about pushing people away because of something written in a book a couple thousand years ago. Just to point out – there are churchgoers out there that are not like the ones described in the article. My 2 cents.

  2. Catherine, thank you for your thoughtful response. I do, however, have to respectfully disagree with you that the protestors are just as bad as the churchgoers they are protesting. Let me stress that I DO NOT advocate or condone physical violence against another human being, however I am all in favor theatrical political protest. Maybe there is a fine line between theatrical protest and physical intimidation, and maybe invading someone’s church is a true violation of space, but I’m inclined to not really care very much if it is. I cannot for the life of me figure out why millions of people in this country who are discriminated against, threatened, and murdered daily are supposed to sit around and sing koom-by-ya and hope that christians change their minds and decide to be nice to us so we can be so grateful for their generosity and change of heart. Frankly, I want my rights and respect from the government and I don’t really care if the average Midwesterner likes me or not. It would be nice if they did, and I think someday these prejudices (and the idiots holding them) will mostly all die off and the world will be a much nicer place, but until then, I, for one, never want to let those people forget what they’ve created. No offense, I know you and I know you mean well, but I think it’s really easy to say people should be more diplomatic and generous to the community when it’s not your own life you’re talking about. (And again, on the flip side of that, I think being positive role models, without necessarily having to hold the hands of your haters is also very effective and will ultimately change more minds than protest. All I’m saying is that I DO think there is a place for these kinds of actions, as long as they’re not the only thing that defines you.)

  3. In case you hadn’t figured it out, I am not a pacifist, and I will never define myself as such.

  4. Ok, now I have to respond again. And I don’t mean this in a hostile way at all, just civilized discussion. But if you want your rights to be respected by the government – what are you doing protesting in a church? You should be protesting at state capital buildings or at court houses if you are going to protest. And I realize this is not my life we are talking about, but I do care about those who’s lives it does affect. And times are changing – I mean, look at how things were 20 years ago versus today? I would say most people in our generation have grown up with homosexuality as a norm – I mean I have gay family members (obviously), one of my best friends in HS had 2 dads, one of my good friends growing up is bi…and lets face it, I’m a relatively conservative person. In a lot of ways (if not almost identical), it’s like how african americans were treated after slavery (and then of course segregation). Although I would say the vast majority of people today are not prejudice against them (we elected a black president didn’t we?), there are still those people out there who happen to get the headlines and can scream the loudest and do horrible things.

    Without starting another debate about an issue not in your post, I want to liken the protest mentioned above to those who protest abortions. My personal opinion is that abortion is wrong (with the exception of rape, incest, mother’s life endangerement). But I totally disagree with those who pester/mock/harass those who go are going into abortion clinics (and I most certainly do not agree with the guy who walked into a church and shot the abortion doctor). But those who do these things are not helping their cause at all, in fact, I would venture to say they are hindering it, probably quite a bit. When they do things like this, they are putting people off, probably those who might actually listen if say they held weekend seminars to educate young people about using protection, or something that didn’t make people want to have an abortion just to prove a point to these people (hopefully not too many people do that).

    I’m not saying sit and do nothing – not saying be a pacifist – but there are better/most positive ways to get people’s attention besides just talking and singing “koom-by-ya”. Also, as proven with the killing of the abortion doctor – when people start protesting to the point it’s annoying, violence will eventually occur from one side or the other (seems to be human nature) and then people die or are seriously injured and that doesn’t get us anywhere.

    Once again, I understand it’s not my life, nor could I ever understand what you have gone through. Sorry for the long post – I realize we are probably going to agree to disagree. Have a good weekend 🙂

  5. Pingback: Light of Truth « Songs About Rainbows

Leave a Reply

