Sludge

I never realized doing a detox diet, even for 2 days, would feel so much like withdrawal. Essentially we’re supposed to be cleansing our bodies of primarily inflammatory toxins, such as caffeine, alcohol, sugar, dairy, and wheat. Yes, I consume large amounts of all of those things. And believe me, going without them feels like torture. On the flipside, I now eat very little meat in my diet, maybe only 2 or 3 times a week, and my diet is already very fruit and vegetable heavy, and I’m very active. So it would seem from the lack of satisfactory sludge excretion while detoxing that perhaps my body hasn’t actually built up tons and tons of toxins. Which is a nice thought.

We start both mornings with steamed vegetables for breakfast (carrots, sweet potatoes, kale, zucchini, and asparagus), along, maybe with some green tea, but definitely beginning with the cup of water with lemon juice, one of which we’re supposed to have every hour. Lemon, apparently, is a great cleanser of livers and gall bladders, stimulating as it does, the production of…well, whatever it produces to clean itself.

The rest of the day is composed primarily of more lemon water and large salads of bitter dandelion greens, which are also supposed to stimulate liver function. There’s a tarragon/lemon/garlic/olive oil dressing recipe, and we’ve been adding some chopped up red peppers, cucumbers, tomatoes, and super fresh avocadoes.

I was mostly okay yesterday, but I went to bed last night with visions of buttery waffles and hot coffee for breakfast dancing in my head, which could explain why it took me over 2 hours to fall asleep, despite being exhausted, and feeling like my body was doing some work. Today I’m grumpy and hungry, and came up with my “I’m-already-too-clean-inside-I-must-not-need-this-diet” theory and nearly attacked my leftover Mexican fajita from Friday night that’s currently feeling neglected in the fridge. I woke up with a headache, and my whole body is a little achy, and we’re about to go “briskly walk” the neighborhood to “keep our bowels moving.”

It’s a good thing we went to the farmer’s market with some friends yesterday and not today. Yesterday I still had willpower – today, I’d give anything for a pizza or an ice cream sandwich. I can’t wait for tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

