Our soaking clothes are hanging over the shower

A rainy Easter in Stumptown

A rainy Easter in Stumptown

Obviously I’m not a big Easter celebrator. I consider myself agnostic at best, and a religion hater at worst, who thinks all religion should be eradicated from the face of the earth. But I can respect traditions, and while all I did today was read the New York Times, eat, do homework, and walk to the grocery store in the pouring rain (more accurately, walked home in the pouring rain; if it had been pouring when I left, I never would have left), I’ve been inspired today to make Easter a new tradition in my life. I like to think of it as a New Beginning (“Arise! Hear the Good News!”), and maybe I’ll take this day each year to make a change in my life, or contemplate what I’m doing that scares me and how I should keep doing it.

I had my first session with a personal trainer last week, and he totally kicked my ass. Of course, being the next to last week of the end of the semester, I haven’t had time to get to the gym to implement his routine, but I will. I will. And I’ll go see him again in about a month. We’re working on a “bulking” routine for me. I’d like to add about 10 pounds, but only of muscle. I’m also, apparently, at 13% body fat, and he wants to get me down to 8%. Which is in the normal “athlete” range for a man of my age. He also informed me, after taking my blood pressure, that I’m in stage 1 hypertension, which sucks sucks sucks so bad. I’ve always had oddly low blood pressure. But it runs in my family, and I am in my 30’s, after all, and my uncle was very fit and had a heart attack and died when he was 42. So it scares the shit out of me and makes me realize that you can affect the outcome only slightly, but you’re pretty much fucked when it comes to genetics. But I exercise regularly, I’m not overweight, I eat plenty of fruits and vegetables, I’ve already cut down on my salt, and I had already started cutting down on my caffeine. Now I’m cutting down more. I don’t need to live forever, but I want to live for awhile, and I want to be healthy while I’m doing it. I think it would be great to just drop dead while I’m on a beautiful hike when I’m 90. That’s only 2 more of my lifetimes that I’ve already lived.

That doesn’t feel like very much. But I’m determined to have no more regrets. And to keep making changes and doing things that scare me. Even if I hate something, at least I won’t have any regrets about it.

Leave a Reply

